Connecticut Motorcycle Insurance

Connecticut Motorcycle Coverage

Review Rates and Policies Online

Enter Zip Code

Connecticut has over 120 miles of Atlantic coastline–some of which makes prime scenery for motorcyclists–while the northern part of the state is home to the rolling hills and town greens. If you want to ride in the state, however, your bike must be insured. In fact, the state requires not only liability coverage, but uninsured motorist coverage as well.

In fact, Connecticut goes so far as to require insurance companies to notify the DMV if an insurance policy is canceled. The requirements for uninsured and under-insured coverage most likely stem from the fact that Connecticut is a ”no fault” state, making riders responsible for their own injuries, lost wages, or death. You could lose everything you have worked hard for after an accident if you are not properly protected against an uninsured motorist.

Motorcycle Laws in Connecticut

First, let’s be clear on how the state defines a motorcycle. According to Connecticut General Statute 14-1:

“Motorcycle means a motor vehicle, with or without a sidecar, having not more than three wheels in contact with the ground and a saddle or seat on which the rider sits or a platform on which the rider stands and includes bicycles having a motor attached, except ‘bicycles’ propelled by means of a helper motor, but does not include a vehicle having a completely or partially enclosed driver’s seat and a motor which is not in the enclosed area.”

No engine displacement numbers are listed within the legislation.  Of course, both you and your bike must have some required equipment in order to be street-legal.

  • Eye protection: required only if your bike is not equipped with a windscreen.
  • Handlebar height: no higher than the rider’s shoulder height when sitting on the seat.
  • Helmet: required under age 18, or with instructional permit.
  • Mirrors: only one required.
  • Turn Signals: not required.
  • Passenger Seat: required if carrying a passenger. No restrictions on a passenger’s age.
  • Headlight: required for all motorcycles built after 1979, and daytime headlight use is required.
  • Muffler: required, baffles required, no cut-outs or straight pipes.
  • Safety Inspection: required and randomly done.

Minimum Motorcycle Insurance:  CT

  • $20,000 for death or bodily injury to one person
  • $40,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons
  • $10,000 for damage or destruction of property

Connecticut also requires that you have uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage that meets the levels needed for death and bodily injury listed above. Eight percent of the drivers on Connecticut’s roadways are uninsured, one of the lowest rates in the country. Even so, there is still a near 1-in-10 chance that the other driver isn’t going to be covered, so you can see why uninsured motorist coverage is required by the state. This coverage makes sure you and your bike are protected against an uninsured or under-insured driver.

As you can see from the minimum limits, there are going to be costs leftover after basic insurance pays its limit. All damages above those caps will be your personal responsibility, so it’s smart to choose higher caps if your budget allows.

Collision and Comprehensive for Motorcycles

Collision coverage covers your bike in an accident under nearly every circumstance. Comprehensive, on the other hand, covers items like fire, wind, water, theft, and vandalism. Both are highly recommended, especially if you ride a relatively new or expensive bike. If you bike is financed, it’s likely that the lender will require you to carry both of these coverages–sometimes known as “full coverage.”

Coverage Made Easy

We have created an easy to use tool so that you can get quotes for the coverage you need. Enter your zip code, then request quotes from major insurers in your area.

Get Coverage

Review Rates and Policies Online

Enter Zip Code