Kansas Motorcycle Insurance

Get Coverage Now

Review Rates and Policies Online

Enter Zip Code

Kansas has many mandatory motorcycle insurance requirements. These requirements include not only basic liability coverage, but personal injury protection (PIP), and an uninsured/under-insured motorist policy.

Kansas is a ”no fault” insurance state, meaning that all riders are responsible for their own injuries after an accident, necessitating the need for PIP coverage. No one wants to have their life devastated financially or medically as the result of an accident, so let’s have a look at Kansas motorcycle insurance issues, how the state defines a motorcycle for law enforcement and insurance purposes, some of the required equipment to make your bike street legal, as well as the coverage levels and types you may need.

Street Legal Motorcycle Requirements in Kansas

Kansas defines a motorcycle as:

“A motor vehicle having a saddle or seat for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, capable of operating at a speed in excess of thirty miles per hour on level ground unassisted by human power, and with a motor that produces more than 5 brake horsepower.”

The Sunflower State can be a beautiful, wide open place to ride. The multitude of rural settings can make you forget the world around you. Still, you and your bike must have certain equipment in order to be considered street legal in Kansas. That equipment includes:

  • Eye protection: required unless your bike has a windscreen.
  • Handlebar height: no restrictions
  • Helmet: required for all riders under the age of 18.
  • Mirrors: only one is required and it must be on the left-hand side.
  • Turn Signals: required for all bike manufactured after 1-1-1973.
  • Passenger Seat/Footrest: both are required if carrying a passenger. No age restrictions for passengers.
  • Headlight: required for all bikes manufactured after 1-1-1978. Modulating daytime headlight approved.
  • Muffler: required, cutouts and bypasses prohibited. There are no acoustical requirements.
  • Safety Inspection: periodic inspections required and are done randomly.

Minimum Motorcycle Insurance in Kansas

Motorcycle insurance regulations in Kansas require that owners have a liability policy, PIP, and uninsured/under-insured.

Liability Coverage

  • $25,000 for death or bodily injury to one person;
  • $50,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons; and
  • $10,000 for damage or destruction of property.

PIP Coverage

$4,500 per person for medical costs;
$900 per month for 1 year for disability and loss of income;
$25 per day for in-home services;
$2,000 for funeral, cremation or burial expenses; and
$4,500 for rehabilitation.

Uninsured/under-insured Coverage

$25,000 for bodily injury, per person; and
$50,000 for total injuries for two or more persons.

Motorcycle Collision/Comprehensive Coverage

The minimum coverages required by the Sunflower State are better than those in some states, but they do little to protect your bike. That is why you should always carry additional coverage.

Collision coverage: this protection covers your bike in an accident under nearly every circumstance. It may or may not include uninsured/under-insured coverage.

Comprehensive coverage: this protection covers items like fire, wind, water, theft, and vandalism.

We have created an easy to use tool so that you can get quotes for the Kansas motorcycle insurance that you need. All you need have to do is enter your rider and motorcycle information and you will receive quotes from reliable companies like Progressive, Geico, Dairyland, and more.

Get Coverage Now

Review Rates and Policies Online

Enter Zip Code