Maine Motorcycle Insurance

Get Coverage Now

Review Rates and Policies Online

Enter Zip Code

Maine has more than 5000 miles of coastline and 6000 lakes–that’s prime riding country!

However, the state requires that all riders carry a minimal liability policy. That is not unusual, but the state goes further by requiring that every rider carry medical payments coverage and an uninsured motorist policy as well. Additionally, Maine is an ”at fault” insurance state, so you run the risk of being sued, fined, or jailed if you do not have the right coverages in place and are found at fault in an accident.

Maine Minimum Motorcycle Insurance

Maine’s mandatory motorcycle insurance laws require that riders have a policy with these minimum limits:

$50,000 for death or bodily injury to one person;
$100,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons; and
$25,000 for damage or destruction of property.
$2,000 for medical payments

The uninsured motorist policy the state requires must have the same limits as your required liability policy.

While Maine has some of the highest minimum coverage amounts in the country, an accident that results in a serious injury could eat-up those limits quickly. When your policy falls short, you will be responsible for all additional costs, potentially draining your life savings, whether you are at fault or not.

Additional Coverage Options

  • Collision coverage: this protects your bike in an accident under nearly every circumstance. It may or may not include uninsured/under-insured coverage. If it doesn’t, take care to add it.
  • Uninsured/Under-insured motorist coverage: Maine requires the uninsured aspect of this type of coverage because nearly 5 percent of the drivers in the state do not have car or motorcycle insurance. The under-insured aspect of the policy protects you in case the other driver is from a state with lower minimum requirements or the injuries exceed the policy caps of an at fault motorist.
  • Comprehensive coverage: this protection covers items like fire, wind, water, theft, and vandalism.

Get Coverage Now

Review Rates and Policies Online

Enter Zip Code

Street Legal Motorcycle Requirements in Maine

According to the Maine legislature:

”Motorcycle means a motor vehicle that has a seat or a saddle for the use of the rider and is designed to travel with only 2 or 3 10-inch or larger diameter wheels in ground contact and has a motor with a cylinder capacity of more than 50 cubic centimeters or an electric motor with a capacity of not less than 1,500 watts.”

The Pine Tree State is a great place to ride. Once you leave the crowded urban areas, you are in breathtaking rural settings. Whether you are competing with congested traffic or not, your bike needs to be street legal at all times. In Maine, the equipment you and your bike must have includes:

  • Eye protection: not required.
  • Handlebar height: restricted to having the handgrips below shoulder height.
  • Helmet: according to Maine Revised Statutes, Title 29, Chapter 19, Subchapter 1, Section 2083 a helmet is required for those under age 18; or with a learner’s permit; or operating less than one year with license/endorsement; or as a passenger of an operator required to wear protective headgear.
  • Mirrors: only one required.
  • Turn Signals: required for all bikes manufactured after 1-1-1974.
  • Passenger Seat and Passenger Footrests: required if carrying a passenger. No restrictions on a passenger’s age.
  • Headlight: required; no provision for a modulating daytime headlight.
  • Muffler: required, no acoustical requirements
  • Safety Inspection: periodic inspection required.

This is especially important if you ride a custom, heavily-modified bike. Go here to see the latest custom motorcycles featured on our blog.