Get Coverage Now
Rates & Policies Online
Enter Zip Code
According to Oregon Revised Statute 806.010, all riders must have motorcycle insurance at all times. In addition to basic bodily injury and property damage coverage, Oregon requires personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured motorist coverage.
Further complicating insurance issues in Oregon is the state’s mixed bag of ”at fault” and ”no fault” requirements when determining who’s insurance pays after an accident; hence, the requirement for PIP in addition to basic coverages. Interestingly, the state selects random motorists each month and requires them to submit proof of insurance.
To help you understand Oregon motorcycle insurance issues, let’s have a look at how the state defines a motorcycle for law enforcement and insurance purposes, some of the required equipment to make your bike street legal, as well as the coverage levels and types you may need.
Oregon Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
The Oregon Revised Statutes have established the minimum motorcycle insurance coverage amounts to be:
$25,000 for death or bodily injury to one person;
$50,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons; and
$20,000 for damage or destruction of property.
PIP coverage: $15,000 per person
Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash.
The minimum coverage limits in Oregon are above average when compared to other states, but an accident that results in any type of serious injury could quickly exceed those limits. If you are at fault and your policy falls short, you will be responsible for all additional costs, potentially draining your life savings. Even if you are not at fault, but the at fault motorist is uninsured, the minimum coverages may not be sufficient.
Recommended Protections for Oregon Riders
The minimum motorcycle insurance limits required in Oregon are reasonably high, but they may not be enough to fully protect you, a passenger, and your bike. That is why you should always carry additional coverage. If there is a lien against your bike, your lender will require better coverage as a condition of the loan. Even if you paid cash for your bike, you should still consider having additional coverage in place to protect your life savings. Some policy types that you should consider are:
Collision coverage: this protects your bike in an accident under nearly every circumstance. It may or may not include uninsured/under-insured coverage. If it doesn’t, take care to add it.
Uninsured/Under-insured motorist coverage: at any given time 9 percent of the motorists in Oregon are uninsured, so you can understand the need for this type of coverage. The under-insured aspect of the policy protects you in case the other driver is from a state with lower minimum requirements or the injuries exceed the policy caps of an at fault motorist.
Comprehensive coverage: this protection covers items like fire, wind, water, theft, and vandalism.
Bodily injury coverage: this protection covers certain costs if you injure or kill someone in an at-fault accident. It also protects your passenger.
Medical payment coverage: this covers items such as prescription drug payments; dental care; medical co-payments and deductibles from other health coverage policies; home nursing care, or funeral expenses.
Oregon Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
The cost of your Oregon motorcycle insurance policy will be determined by a whole host of factors. In order to help you estimate this cost, we have created an easy to use tool so that you can get quotes for the protections you need. Simply enter your zip code, and the major insurers who insure bikes in your area will be listed. From here, you can request quotes based on your bike and coverage needs.
Get Quotes Now
Rates & Policies Online
Enter Zip Code
Street-Legal Motorcycle Requirements in Oregon
To many, defining a motorcycle seems a waste of time, but every state does so for law enforcement and insurance purposes. Oregon defines a motorcycle as:
“Any motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel with no more than three wheels in contact with the ground, excluding farm equipment and mobility assistive devices.”
The statutes go on to say that piston displacement must be larger than 50 cc and the vehicle must be able to travel at speeds greater than 30 mph on level ground without human assistance.
Oregon can be an interesting place to ride. On one hand you have the congested streets of Portland, on the other you have immense forests. Whether you are competing with congested traffic or riding under a redwood canopy, your bike needs to be street legal at all times. In Oregon, the equipment you and your bike must have includes:
- Eye protection: not required.
- Handlebar height: no restrictions.
- Helmet: required for all riders.
- Mirrors: one required.
- Turn Signals: required on all bikes manufactured after 1972.
- Passenger Seat and Passenger Footrests: required if carrying a passenger. No restrictions on a passenger’s age.
- Headlight: required, a modulating daytime headlight is approved.
- Muffler: required. Acoustical limits include: Max A-weighted noise level as measured at 20 inches for bikes manufactured: 1975 and before—102dBA, after 1975–99dBA
- Safety Inspection: periodic inspections required and done randomly.