Delaware Motorcycle Insurance

Warning: Undefined variable $html_output in /home/customer/www/ : eval()'d code on line 44

Delaware Motorcycle Insurance

Review Rates and Policies Online

Enter Zip Code

Delaware, while not the biggest state in the union, offers some great motorcycle roads, from the covered bridges and woody hills of the Brandywine Valley to the quiet two-lanes that trace the beaches and estuaries of the coast.

The state requires that all drivers have a minimum level of insurance coverage for their automobiles, motorcycles, and boats. Since Delaware is an ”at-fault” state, you could be held responsible for any medical, legal, or civil costs above and beyond your coverage if you are found at fault in an accident.

Delaware Minimum Motorcycle Insurance

Delaware motorcycle insurance statutes require that owners must carry a liability policy with the following coverage amounts:

  • $15,000 for death or bodily injury to one person.
  • $30,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons.
  • $10,000 for damage or destruction of property.

As you can see from this minimum coverage, there is a very good chance that you will be faced with medical bills after any accident. To make matters worse, you will have to pay those bills in full if the other driver is at fault and does not have sufficient coverage.

Other Motorcycle Coverage

The minimum coverage required by the state of Delaware leaves a lot to be desired. A single visit to an E.R. could quickly eat up the limits of a minimum policy. That is why you should always carry additional coverage. Lenders typically require better coverage as a condition of a loan.  But, even if you own your bike free and clear, you should consider having the following coverage in place:

Collision coverage covers your bike in an accident under nearly every circumstance. It may or may not include uninsured/under-insured coverage. If it doesn’t, be sure to add it on.

Comprehensive coverage covers items like fire, wind, water, theft, and vandalism.

Uninsured/Under-Insured motorist coverage: more than 11 percent of the drivers on the roads in Delaware are uninsured. Numbers like that make it easy to see why uninsured motorist coverage is necessary. This coverage makes sure you and your bike are protected against an uninsured driver or when an at-fault driver doesn’t have enough coverage to pay for your injuries.

Delaware Motorcycle Rules and Regulations

In Delaware, a motorcycle is defined as:

“Any motor vehicle with a seat or saddle, two or three wheels, and has an engine displacement of 50cc or larger.”

Farm equipment does not fall under the statutes governing motorcycles.

Delaware Street Legal Motorcycle Requirements

  • Eye protection: required.
  • Handlebar height: no restrictions.
  • Helmet: Delaware Title 21 requires that “every person operating or riding on a motorcycle shall have in that person’s possession a safety helmet…[and]…every person up to 19 years of age operating or riding on a motorcycle shall wear a safety helmet and eye protection.”
  • Mirrors: only one is required.
  • Turn Signals: not required.
  • Passenger Seat/Footrest: both are required if carrying a passenger. No age restriction for passengers.
  • Headlight: required.
  • Muffler: required, cutouts are not allowed.
  • Noise Restrictions:  yes, regulated by Sec. 71-II-4. Allowable Noise Levels.
  • Safety Inspection: not required.

Get Insured Today

We have created an easy to use tool so that you can get quotes for the Delaware motorcycle insurance that you need. All you need do is enter your rider and motorcycle information and you will receive several quotes from reliable companies like Progressive, Geico, Dairyland, and more.

Get Coverage

Review Rates and Policies Online

Enter Zip Code